Carroll Smith Mentor Award Nominations

10/28/2019 9:33:44 AM   FormulaSAE Series

Carroll Smith Mentor Award Nominations

The highest award that can be earned by any Formula SAE advisor, the Carroll Smith Mentor's Cup recognizes extraordinary levels of personal time and expertise given to engineering education and the ability to serve as an exceptional role model for students. All FSAE faculty advisors who have been recognized by the Mentor’s Cup provide long term continuity to their team, create a positive and encouraging environment, are active in the team’s technical, organizational and management challenges, uphold the student-run character of the team and provide a professional role model.

Formula SAE is proud to announce that once again we will working with SCCA Nationals in accepting nominations for the 2020 competition season. We look forward to recieving your nominations and bestowing this honor to one of our faculty advisors in the spring of 2020.

If you believe your faculty advisor deserves to receive the Carroll Smith Award for all of their efforts throughout the year and your team is registered for Formula SAE California or Formula SAE Michigan, please send your nominations to Kaley Zundel at [email protected]. Deadline for nominations is March 2, 2020.

Be sure to include the following:

  • Your faculty advisor name and title
  • Just what does he does for your team/how does he support you
  • How long has he been involved
  • Nominator Name and email as we may need to contact you

Past Mentor’s Cup Award Recipients:

Dr. Bob Woods, University of Texas at Arlington
Dr. Al George, Cornell University, Retired
Dr. Andrew Deakin, Leeds University (Now in Industry)

Dr. Ken Cunefare, Georgia Tech
Dr. Alan Nye, Rochester Institute of Technology
Dr. Dick Gross, Akron University, Retired
Dr. Make McDermott, Texas A&M University, Retired
Dr. Peter Jones, Auburn University
Dr. Dan Dolan, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
Dr. Gary Cloud, Michigan State University
Dr. Robert Sorem, University of Kansas
Mr. Doug Fraser, Dartmouth College, Retired
Dr. Robert Paasch, Oregon State University
Dr. Sergio Diaz, Universidad Simon Bolivar
Dr. Byam Brooks, Saginaw State University
Dr. John Russell, University of New Mexico
Dr. Craig Hoff, Kettering University
Capt. Len Hamilton, University of Maryland and U.S. Naval Academy
Mr. Cliff Stover, California State Polytechnic University at Pomona (Moved schools)
Dr. Randall Allemang, University of Cincinnati
Dr. Edward Hohenberg, University of Manitoba